Fairygodmuma's Blog

Sprinkle some magic in your life…

How to be grateful for EVERY situation

on July 27, 2012

Someone very close to me once said, “You’re always saying thankyou! You say it too much!”

My response, “You can never be too thankful.”

Being grateful is one of lifes greatest and most powerful acts of magic. Not only does it make you feel good to say thanks, but it makes the source of your gratitude happy too. And to top it all off, when you give thanks, the universe responds by sending you lots more situations or objects to be grateful for. It is a guaranteed way to fast track the things you want into your lives, and feels fantastic at the same time!

When people complain: “It’s too early, it’s too late, too hot, too cold, too expensive, too far, such a hassle, so boring or Im tired, I’m so fed up, I’m hungry…” they are focusing on the negative. As I’ve already mentioned in previous posts, by focusing and putting our energy into something, we are telling the Universe that we want more of it. When someone complains, they are therefore attracting more experiences into their life to complain about!

I bet there are a few wide eyes staring at this screen right now wondering “how on Earth can I find the positive in being stuck in traffic because of roadworks?” or “how can I be grateful that its raining again for the third day in a row?” or “what is there to be thankful for when I am bedridden with a rotten cold”

Well, my dears, you must…

Develop an attitude of gratitude!

How about giving thanks for just having a car or means of transport to get to your destination, as well as thanking the hard workers fixing the road under dangerous conditions to ensure we are safe on our journey? How about being grateful for the abundant crops that will be grown and the water sources that will be replenished by the rain, providing us with a constant fresh water supply? (Not to mention how much fun there is to be had splashing in muddy puddles!) Try being grateful that you only have a cold which is curable and will pass in a few days, and be thankful for all other parts of your body that are healthy and well: your heart, lungs, legs, arms, eyes, ears and brain… Be grateful to be alive.

It is completely possible to be thankful under all circumstances.

Whilst studying gratitude in my journey to becoming Fairy GodMuma, I was asked by my tutor to keep a gratitude journal for two weeks, finding all the positive things to be thankful for. During this time I was pregnant and was hospitalised with complications. However, I remained thankful throughout. Grateful for the nurses and doctors working all hours to look after me, grateful for access to necessary medication and medical equipment to monitor my baby and I, grateful to my body for alerting me to the fact something was not right and for working perfectly to fix the problem, grateful to my family for visiting me in hospital and showering me with hope and love, but most of all, grateful for the beautiful miracle of being able to carry our healthy, much loved baby. Even my tutor was stunned at how positive and grateful I remained in such circumstances where most people would have complained until the cows came home! But by looking at the big picture, I was able to see how truly blessed I was and I believe this gratitude helped aid a speedy recovery for both my baby and I.

No matter who we are or what our situation is, there is ALWAYS something to be grateful for.

We all have so much to be grateful for in our lives. Shelter or a roof over our head, a bed to sleep in, clothes to keep us warm, shoes to keep our feet dry, television, telephones, computers with access to the internet, food and appliances to cook the food with, fresh running water, sunshine, rain, the moon to light the way for us at night, access to hospitals and medical treatment, wages or benefits that enable us to afford our blessings, our children, family and friends who we love and who love us, cars or public transport to get us from A-B, legs to walk with, eyes to see, ears to hear, hands to touch and pick up and hug, a voice to speak out or tell someone we love them or laugh, air to breathe… being alive. The list is endless!

So today, poppets, when you feel the starts of a complaint bubbling inside you, I want you to look around at all the positives instead, count your blessings and give heartfelt thanks for them.

“Gratitude unlocks the fullness of life. It turns what we have into enough, or more. It turns denial into acceptance, chaos to order, confusion to clarity. It can turn a meal into a feast, a house into a home, a stranger into a friend.” – Melody Beattie

Thank you for reading…

Love and blessings,

Fairy GodMuma xxx

Image

Please leave a reply

