Fairygodmuma's Blog

Sprinkle some magic in your life…

Overcome, believe, acheive!

on July 30, 2012

I have had the pleasure of working with many wonderful yet vulnerable people, full of dreams and aspirations but also full of fear and self doubt. Believing they will get nowhere because of who they are and where they have come from, feeling they have been dealt a bad hand and been let down by their elders and society. It saddens me to hear them say, “People like me don’t get what we want.”

A number of these people have assumed I was born with a silver spoon in my mouth, sent to private school and wrapped in cotton wool because, to them, I am successful. Not quite true… I grew up on a council estate on the outskirts of London with my siblings and my mum, who was a single parent, but worked all hours to make ends meet. I shared a small room with two siblings and we went to the local public school. There was no silver spoon. There was no private school. There was no cotton wool.

There was lots of love though.

We may not have been wealthy or had a big house in a respectable area, but we were rich in other ways. We had all the love and support any child could ask for, and that is worth more than any material item. My parent’s believed wholeheartedly in me, and as a result, I believed in myself.

I could have allowed our perceived limitations to hold me back, but it only spurred me on more. I wanted to be the best I could possibly be, and I wasn’t prepared to let anything stand in my way. It goes without saying that my journey hasn’t been all plain sailing. I’ve encountered many setbacks and obstacles along the way, but they have moulded me into the person I am today, and so I could not be more thankful for them.

So, why am I telling you all this? Quite simply, because, I really want for you to all live happy fulfilled lives! 

It really is a personal choice as to whether you live a life of struggle, disappointments and misery – or whether you live a life of abundance, excitement and bliss. You could continue to blame your current circumstances on your upbringing, your parents, society or mistakes you have made. Alternatively, you can take back control of your life and realise that the only person holding you back or preventing you from blossoming, is you.

I always find it inspiring to look at people who have fought the odds to become successful.

My favourite is J K Rowling, who whilst being unemployed, on welfare, a single mum and living with depression, wrote her Harry Potter novels when she could in various cafes, and is now worth about $1.1billion! Another is Jim Carrey, who had to work eight hours a day as well as attending high school to help out his family who ended up living in a camper van. Despite all of this, he decided to act upon his dreams of becoming a stand up comedian and dropped out of school to do so. He is now one of the highest paid comedians. Both had a dream, and neither let their circumstances stop them from acheiving that.

It is such an empowering feeling when we finally realise that we are responsible for our life as it is, and that only we have the power to change or make it better. If you have been guilty of blaming others for your circumstances, stop right now and get back into the driving seat of your life. No matter who you are or where you come from, you can be or acheive anything you set your mind to!

As Jim Rohn said: “You must take personal responsibility. You can not change the circumstances, the seasons, or the wind, but you can change yourself.”

Your destiny awaits you… make it a magical one!

Love and blessings

Fairy GodMuma xxx

P.S. I would like to dedicate this post to the person who inspired me most to overcome, believe and acheive. Thankyou for giving me the gift of life and holding my hand as I walk through it. Love you Mum x 

Image

Please leave a reply

