Fairygodmuma's Blog

Sprinkle some magic in your life…

Celebration of our Mistakes

on August 18, 2012
 
If I had to live my life over… I’d dare to make more mistakes next time” – Nadine Stair
 
Hello Poppets,
I have been thinking about all the things that made me who I am today.
I can honestly say that I am so thankful for every mistake I’ve made, every challenge I’ve overcome, and every experience or person I have encountered throughout my life; good or bad.
 
People often find it hard to accept and celebrate their mistakes, and instead look back at them with embarrasment, guilt and regret.
However, were it not for mistakes, how would we ever learn?
 
Looking back, of course, it was irresponsible, mad, forlorn, idiotic, but if you don’t take chances then you’ll never have a winning hand, and I’ve no regrets” – Bernard Cornwell
 
Since we were toddlers we have been learning from our mistakes: From taking first steps and perhaps falling over, to climbing the wall outside the house, slipping and hurting our knee. At school we may have not done our homework in time resulting in detention, or we may have followed the pack and bullied another in order to not be seen as weak, even though it made us feel awful. Without making these mistakes we would have never learned to walk, climb or run. We wouldn’t learn that actions result in consequences, or the importance and blessing of education. We wouldn’t learn the importance of standing up for what we believe in and being true to ourself.
 
Mistakes have important life lessons to teach us. No successful person has made it to where they are without mistakes being made. It is in fact, the mistakes, that have given them an opportunity to reassess and better what it is they are successful in.
 
We have all done things we are perhaps not proud of. People we wish we had not been in relationships with. Events we’d like to erase from our memories. But would you be the amazing person you are today had you not experienced all of these things?
 
Newton’s laws state that: to every action there is always an equal and opposite reaction. Therefore, in every perceived negative situation, there is also a positive outcome.
 
If you have regrets, write them down on a piece of paper and then try to find at least five positive outcomes for each one. At first this may seem like an impossible task.. But Fairy GodMuma doesn’t do impossible. The word impossible can be broken up to read I’M POSSIBLE and anything is possible if you put your mind to it.
 
For example:
REGRET
I wish I had gone to University
POSITIVES
I instead gained working experience which is hugely important when applying for future jobs
I was able to travel which increased my independence, common sense and personal responsibility
I have no university loans that I could still be paying off
I would not have met my amazing spouse and have our two beautiful children
I can now afford to take a long distance study course
 
REGRET
I wish I’d had children younger
POSITIVES
I would not have met or had children with my now spouse
I have lived a great fulfilled life: including travelling, holidays, social gatherings and growing personally
I now own a beautiful home that is perfect for bringing children up in
I now have a fantastic job and financial security to enable me to provide for my family
I am much wiser and responsible now
 
Every occurence in our life has led us to where we are and who we are now. Every person who has brushed our lives has served a purpose or taught us something. Our biggest challengers are our biggest teachers. Everything happens for a reason.
 
When people avoid taking risks or are scared of making mistakes, they inadvertently turn down amazing oppotunites to learn, grow and succeed.
The greatest mistake you can make in life is to be continually afraid you will make one” – Elbert Hubbard
 
Every mistake has its place in our personal growth and if we can embrace them and celebrate them, then we can step forward in our lives free from regret.
 
Love and blessings,
 
Fairy GodMuma xxx
 

Celebrate your mistakes as they are what make you special!

 
 
2 responses to “Celebration of our Mistakes

  1. your regrets and positives, for the most part, match mine. life is lovely and is just the way it’s meant to be.

Please leave a reply

