Fairygodmuma's Blog

Sprinkle some magic in your life…

Choose to be Happy!

on September 15, 2012
 
I dont think I have ever met someone who truly wanted to be unhappy. We all want to live a fulfilling, loving and joyful life. Surely the desire to be happy is born within us? Well we can be and we deserve to be. Each and every one of us! All you have to do is make a choice… The choice to be happy.

“Most folks are about as happy as they make up their minds to be” ~ Abraham Lincoln

No one else is responsible for the way you feel. Only you are. You are in control of your mind, body, thoughts and emotions and therefore, only you can choose how to respond to a situation. Someone elses words or actions, or an external circumstance may have  triggered an emotional response within yourself, but it is up to you whether you respond negatively or positively.

If someone upsets us, you could replay that conversation or encounter over and over in your head, hearing the harsh words that were spoken and experiencing the painful emotions repeatedly. However, all we are doing here, is focusing our time and energy on the negative, which will only draw more pain and sorrow into our lives. You chose to react in this way. Therefore, you are responsible for how awful you are feeling right now.

“Simply put, you believe that things or people make you unhappy, but this is not accurate. You make yourself unhappy” – Wayne Dyer

Alternatively, if someone upsets you, you could acknowledge what they have said and the feelings you initially experience, but then instead of dwelling on it, thank them for their opinion (in your head or out loud) and then move on. Their opinion is just that – their opinion. It does not mean it is fact. Replace any negative thoughts or feelings you may have initially had, with positive confident ones. Now doesn’t that feel better?

The only person who gets hurt when you dwell on negativity is yourself. You could allow yourself to get drawn into negative conversations or activities, but remember, this will not benefit anyone, and especially not you. It pays to remain as positive as you can (or as is appropriate) in all situations.

It’s not that life has been easy, perfect, or exactly as expected. I just choose to be happy and grateful no matter how it all turns out” – Unknown

Sometimes we can get carried away by our thoughts and feelings. We can start off with one negative thought, and before we know it, we have attracted more negative thoughts which start flooding into our head until we are completely consumed with them. But it is never too late to stop and change your thought patterns to those of positive, uplifting, happy ones.

If you find yourself getting carried away, dont beat yourself up about it. This will just encourage more negative thoughts.

Instead, imagine that you are riding on something (eg. a horse, other animal, train or bus) which is travelling faster and faster with the more negative thoughts that pass through your mind, heading swiftly into the horizon which is dark and miserable and filled with doom and gloom. I see myself on the back of a camel (perhaps their humps are a symbol of how I have allowed myself to feel!) When I catch myself galloping off on this camel, I simply shout “Stop!”, pull on the reins and jump down from it. As your feet hit the floor, take a deep breath and reaffirm that you are in control. Then turn on your heels, smile and confidently head in the other direction, to a horizon full of golden light, promise, laughter and love. I use this fun visualisation when I catch myself being carried away with my thoughts. It can bring a little light to the situation and remind you that every moment really is another chance to turn it all around. You can stop your negative train of thoughts any time you like, and you can choose to be happy.

 “I caught the happiness virus last night when I was out singing beneath the stars” –  Hafiz of Persia

Every morning when you wake up, make the conscious choice to be happy. Know that no matter what situations you find yourself in and no matter what challenges you come up against, you will remain positive, you will smile, and you will be happy!

I will finish with a wonderful exert from the diary of the inspirational Anne Frank, who had the ability to find happiness in the darkest of times:

“…if I ever find myself in a bad mood, I immediately make a choice to be happy. In fact, it is the first choice I make every day. I say out loud to my mirror, ‘Today, I will choose to be happy!’ I smile into the mirror and laugh even if I am sad. I just say, “Ha,ha,ha,ha!” And soon, I am happy, exactly as I have chosen to be. I will greet each day with laughter. I will smile at every person I meet. I am the possessor of a grateful spirit. Today I will choose to be happy.”

Love and blessings,

Fairy GodMuma xxx

Choose to be Happy!

4 responses to “Choose to be Happy!

  1. […] Choose to be Happy! (fairygodmuma.wordpress.com) […]

  2. […] Choose to be Happy! (fairygodmuma.wordpress.com) […]

  3. […] Choose to be Happy! (fairygodmuma.wordpress.com) […]

Please leave a reply

