Fairygodmuma's Blog

Sprinkle some magic in your life…

Create your own Magic Toolbox

on March 7, 2016

Did you know that you can have up to 70,000 thoughts a day? That’s a whole lot of thinking! It is also a whole lot of creating as our thoughts become things.

Marcus Aurelius once said, “The happiness of your life depends upon the quality of your thoughts; therefore guard accordingly.”

What we think about and focus on most, we attract into our lives, whether that be good or bad. However, a positive thought is much more powerful than a negative one.

This emphasises why it is so important to try and make sure our thoughts are predominantly positive. Perhaps easier said than done when we have so many conscious and subconscious thoughts running through our mind?!

That is why I created myself a magic toolbox. Dont worry, I don’t fly around tugging a heavy cumbersome metal case! It is a hypothetical toolbox which contains memories, thoughts, actions and things that I can tap into to instantly trigger my positive thoughts or give me a wee boost if I need one! I’m going to open and share some of its contents with you now, and perhaps it will inspire you to create your own…

Fairy GodMuma’s Magic Toolbox:

1) Magic Pebble – this is a pebble my son gave me which I pop into my pocket or purse, and each time I grasp it in my hand I think of my children and how amazingly blessed and happy thay make me.

2) Look at photos of wedding day or other significant events – each time I look at these photos I envision myself reliving the experience and I feel all the wonderful, proud, joyous feelings that went with it.

3) Supercharge Songs – I have created a playlist of songs that inspire and supercharge my emotions. A few of these beautful songs include ‘Kisses and Cake’ by John Powell, ‘Feels like Home’ by Edwina Hayes and “No Other Love” by Chuck Prophet, but you could fill your playlist with songs that are personal and motivational to you.

4) Laughter – Laughter really is the best medicine so I will do anything which sparks a good chuckle. I watch a funny videoclip or recall a joke or memory. If with my children, I will tickle them and let their infectious laughter contaminate me. I laugh from the bottom of my belly and let it completely take over.

5) Favourite place – I take myself off to a place where I feel at peace, and breathe in the air so it fills my lungs with tranquility and bliss. If you’re not able to physically visit your treasured place, look at a picture or visualise yourself there and live the emotions it fills you with.

6) Hug a loved one – hugging not only makes you feel good, but it makes the person you’re hugging feel good (providing they have given you permission to do so!)

7) Count my blessings – I look around at all the wonderful beautiful things in my life and feel heartfelt gratitude for them. If you keep a gratitude journal, you could re-read it or add to it to enhance your thanks.

8) Dance – depending on how brave you are, this may not be one to do whilst riding the bus, or sitting in a meeting at work! However, I love to put on an upbeat song and dance like noone is watching. Even better, I grab my eldest son and swing him around like were auditioning for Strictly Ballroom, usually resulting in us collapsing on the floor in a fit of giggles. A perfect feel good quick fix!

9) Tell someone you love them – text them, ring them, email them or best of all, tell them face to face! If you are unable to tell them, visualise them standing in front of you and picture their response as you say it. Trust me, your love will reach out to them. Expressing your love not only fills you with good vibes, but it will make the recipient feel fantastic too. Recall how amazing it is to hear someone tell you they love you. Take time to think about all the people who love you, and let their love fill you up. No matter what, there is always someone out there who loves you.

10) Chocolate – I always keep a few blocks of chocolate in my magic toolbox! Its my weakness, but you can’t beat a hit of dreamy creamy chocolate to get the endorphins fizzing!

So this is a sample of what you may find in my magic toolbox, and most of them can be accessed and utilised anytime, anywhere and are guaranteed to start a tidal wave of positive thoughts. We would be pushed to monitor every single thought we have each day, but with awareness and practice you will start to automatically acknowledge and eliminate your negative thoughts and replace them with positively fantastic ones. And who doesn’t want to be happy, right?

My question to you tonight, poppets, what would you put in your magic toolbox?

Love and blessings,

Fairy GodMuma xxx

Please leave a reply

